Monday, November 17, 2008

78,000-plus write-ins for president


Those of you who have read We the Purple may recall that I became a political animal when I was denied the opportunity to write in the name of my choice for president in the 2000 election. I got so miffed that I voted against the current superintendent of elections that year.

This year 78,346 voters (and counting) cast write-in votes for president, making “write-ins” the seventh largest vote-winner—after Obama, McCain, and these runners-up:

  • #3, Ralph Nader (independent), 705, 875 votes
  • #4, Bob Barr (Libertarian), 511,362 votes
  • #5, Chuck Baldwin (Constitution), 186,335 votes
  • #6, Cynthia McKinney (Green), 153,698 votes

Actually, the write-ins could rack up many more votes, because they are among the last votes to be counted. It’s likely that we won’t know the exact number of ballots cast for write-ins until well into the new year.

You can check out the current tally of votes for the top 25 presidential candidates—including “None of these candidates,” who weighed in at #13—at the U.S. Election Atlas web site.

1 comment:

David Glover said...

Marcia, I live in Oklahoma and I am researching Voter ID laws. I use blogger also - great template - how do you get that google powered tag words scroll thing to work, help me david @ Davidglover . com Thanks